IEEE Communications Society eHealth Technical Committee

Meeting Minutes held on Tuesday 10th, December 2013 during Globecom 2013, Atlanta, GA, USA

Tuesday, December 10th, 2013, 14:30-15:30 in Room 401/402 - 4th Floor, Atlanta Hilton Hotel.

Chaired by Dr. Joel Rodrigues, eHealth TC Vice-Chair

Minutes by Dr. Hsi-Pin Ma, eHealth Standards Liaison

The Chair shortly introduced the agenda of the meeting, which was accepted by attendees.

- 1. Welcome/Introductions: The chair welcomed the attendees and they shortly introduced themselves to the others. A total of 12 members attended the eHealth TC meeting. The agendas of the meeting and the list of the TC members is enclosed at the end of the minutes.
- 2. Minutes of previous TC meeting

The minutes of last meeting held during Healthcom 2013, held in Lisbon were approved by unanimity.

3. Introduction of the TC officers and Member of the Steering Committee.

4. TC Recertification

The TC was recertified in September 2012 and this recertification is for more 3 years. Strong commitment of TC members is very important for the TC activity. The chair expressed the thanks to the previous officers.

5. Elections

Election had beed held for the TC officers in the coming two years. Dr. Joel Rodrigues was elected as the Chair, Dr. Nazim Agoulmine was elected as the Vice Chair, and Dr. Hsi-Pin Ma was elected as the Secretary.

- 6. eHealth TC Monthly Newsletter
- Bimonthly newsletter.
- 8 newsletters so far.
- TC members to submit contributions to the newsletter editors.
- We would like to identify more correspondents for country to identify activities around eHealth in the country and solicit contributions from actors.
- The next newsletter editors: Dr. Aravind Kailas and Dr. Hsi-Pin Ma.
- 7. TC involved Journal/Magazine publications
- SI on mHealth on Journal of Selected Areas on Communications (JSAC), published in Sept. 2013 with 23 submissions and 5 accepted papers. (guest editor: Dr. Pradeep Ray)
- IEEE EMBS: IEEE Journal of Biomedical and Health Informatics (J-BHI): Dr. Joel Rodrigues and Dr. Pradeep Ray were appointed on the Steering Committee of the Journal by the ComSoc president.
- New feature topic on Communications Magazine on Ambition Assisting Living (leader guest editor: Joel Rodrigues)
- International Journal of E-Health and Medical Communications (http://www.igi-global.com/ijehmc) (EiC: Dr. Joel Rodrigues).
- eHealth TC is available to support proposals for special issues on IEEE journals (Wireless Communications, etc.). Any member of the TC can make a proposal.

• eHealth TC is available to support proposals for special issues on IEEE Journals (ComMag, JSAC, etc.)

8. TC involved in Conferences IEEE Healthcom 2013 October 9-12, 2013 General Chair: Dr. Joel Rodrigues Submitted papers: 286 Ratio <45% Lisbon, Portugal

IEEE Globecom 2013 - SAC Track on eHealth December 9-13, 2013 Track chair: Dr. Kaoru Sezaki Atlanta, USA 26 papers submitted and 10 papers accepted

IEEE ICC 2014 - SAC Track on eHealth June 10-14, 2014 Track chair: Dr. Nazim Agoulmine Number of submissions: 43 Sidney, Australia

IEEE Healthcom 2014 General Chairs: Dr. Augusto Neto and Dr. Neuman De Souza Submission deadline: 1 April 30, 2014 October 15-18, 2014 Natal, Brazil

IEEE Globecom 2014 – SAC Track on eHealth TPC Track Chair: Dr. Joel Rodrigues December 08-12, 2014 Deadline: April 1, 2014 Austin, Texas, 2014

9. Standard Liaison The TC liaison is Dr. Hsi-Pin Ma. No new information.

10. Distinguished Lecturers

- Dr. Pradeep Ray has been selected IEEE ComSoc DL for 2 years 2014-2015
- Dr. Nazim Agoulmine has been selected IEEE ComSoc DL for 2 years 2013-2014
- Dr. Maode Ma shared the DL experiences with TC members
- Volunteers are welcome to submit applications to the TC.
- 11. TC meeting adjourned at 15:38 and the next meeting will be held in ICC 2014 in Sidney, Australia.

12. Agenda of the meeting Welcome Minutes of the last TC meeting eHealth TC Newsletter (Aravind & Nazim) TC involved Journal/magazine publications TC-sponsored conferences Distinguished Lecturer Standard Liaison Q&A Adjourn 13. List of Attendees:

- Joel Rodrigues (eHealth TC Vice-Chair) (joeljr@ieee.org)
- Hsi-Pin Ma (National Tsing Hua Univ, Taiwan), (hp@ee.nthu.edu.tw)
- Maode Ma (Nanyang Technological University), (emdma@ntu.edu.sg)
- Yimin Zhang (Villanova University), (vimin@ieee.org)
- Giorgio Quer (UC San Diego, CA), (<u>gquer@ucsd.edu</u>)
 Kaoru Sezaki (University of Tokyo, Japan), (<u>sezaki@iis.u-tokyo.ac.jp</u>)
- José David Cely (Univ. Distrital), (jdcely@yahoo.com)
- Christos Verikoukis (CTTC), (cveri@ctte.es)
- Igor Bisio (Univ. of Genoa, Italy), (igor@dist.unige.it)
- Marco Birenzo, (CNRS. France)
- Shahid Mumtaz, (IT, Portugal)
- Honggang Wang (UMASS, USA)