IEEE Communications Society eHealth Technical Committee (eHealth TC) IEEE HEALTHCOM 2012 Meeting – October 12th, 2012

Meeting Minutes held during IEEE HEALTHCOM 2012, Beijing, CHINA Friday, October 12, (12:00-13:30), Tsinghua University; Room FIT 4-302. Chaired by Joel Rodrigues, eHealth TC Vice chair Minutes by Nazim Agoulmine, eHealth TC Secretary

The chair shortly introduced the agenda of the meeting, which was approved by all attendees.

1. Welcome/Introductions: The Chair welcomed the attendees and they shortly introduced themselves to the others. A total of 12 members attended the eHealth TC meeting. The list of the TC members is enclosed at the end of the minutes.

2. Minutes of previous TC meeting

The minutes of last meeting held during ICC 2012, Ottawa, CANADA were approved by unanimity.

3. TC Recertification

The TC Vice-Chair introduced the eHealth TC IEEE Recertification process and its successful achievement, thanks to the chairs, the whole steering committee and all members.

4. eHealth TC Monthly Newsletter

The editors of the TC Newsletter Aravind Kailas (UNC Charlotte, USA) – aravindk@ieee.org and Nazim Agoulmine (University of Evry, France) - nazim.agoulmine@iup.univ-evry.fr did present the advance in the second newsletter which is finalized and should published soon after the meeting on the eHealth TC Website

5. TC involved Journal/magazine publications

The TC Vice-Chair did remind the involved of the TC in several international journal and magazine publications:

a) IEEE Communications Magazine (finalized; co-edited by Nazim Agoulmine)

b) Journal on Selected Areas on Communications (JSAC) (finalized, co-edited by Pradeep Ray)

c) International Journal of E-Health and Medical Communications (IJEHMC) (editor Joel Rodrigues) - (http://www.igi-global.com/ijehmc)

6. TC-sponsored conferences

The TC Vice-Chair introduced the conferences/tracks that are endorsed by the committee and highlighted the special track on eHealth that is held at ICC 2013. The vice chair also

notified that IEEE Healthcom is the flagship conference of the eHealth TC and therefore there is a continuous effort to make it as visible as possible:

- a) IEEE HealthCom 2013 (Lisbon, Portugal)
- b) ICC 2013/eHealth Track (Budapest, Hungary)
- c) 12th Conference of FRUCT Association

7. TC Standard liaisons

The eHealth TC was seeking for volunteers to serve as liaison with standards. Dr Hsi-Pin Ma was appointed Standard liaison for ehealth TC.

8. TC Awards Nominations

The TC Vice-Chair has explained the procedure to nominate the TC Awards committee. The following members have been approved by all the attendees.

- Jian Song,
- Kaoru Sezaki,
- Norbert Noury,
- Joel Rodrigues
- Nazim Agoulmine

9. ComSoc conference technical sponsorship process and requirements

The vice chair has explained the procedure for ComSoc conference technical sponsorship process and requirements. This is different from the endorsement process of conferences by the eHealth TC. Detailed procedures can be found on the ComSoc website.

10. Q&A - No Questions

11. Adjourn: TC Meeting adjourned at 13:30 and next meeting will be held during IEEE GLOBECOM 2012.

12. List of Attendees:

Joel Rodrigues (eHealth TC Vice-Chair)

Nazim Agoulmine (eHealth TC Secretary)

Chu-Ren Shyn (eHealth TC Steering Committee member) (shyuc@missouri.edu)

Norbert Noury (eHealth TC Steering Committee member) (<u>Norbert.noury@insa-lyon.fr</u>)

Aravind Kailas (aravindk@ieee.org)

Hsi-Pin Ma (<u>hp@ee.nthuedu.tw</u>)

Tony Sahana (t.sahana@qut.edu.au)

Giordio Quer (gquer@ucsd.edu)

Ahmed Mehaoua (ahmed.mehaoua@parisdescartes.fr)

Laimutis Telksnys (laimutis.telksnys@mii.vu.lt)

Qiyin Fang (gigin.fang@mcmaster.ca)

Jian-Jiang Yang (<u>yangjijiang@tsinghua.edu.cn</u>)